+49 261/9834970
Your hotline to us!
Mo.-Th. 8:00 am to 6:00 pm
Fr. 8 am to 4:00 pm
We would be pleased to call you back
Please use our Callback function.

Laser safety

Due to the specific characteristics of laser radiation and the biological and physical effects this has, special protection and cautionary measures are required in the use of lasers. To define the individual measures to be taken in each case, lasers are assigned to classes based on their hazard potential. The authoritative documents on laser device assignments to the classes 1, 1 M, 2, 2 M, 3 R, 3 B and 4 are the accident prevent regulation "Laser Radiation" BGV B2 and the DIN EN 60825-1 standard (VDE 0837 Part 1).

Laser class Hazards
Accessible laser radiation is harmless.
The accessible laser radiation is harmless providing no optical instruments such as magnifying glasses or binoculars are used.
The accessible laser radiation is only in the visible spectral range (400 nm to 700 nm). It is also safe for the human eye in case of short term exposure to radiation (up to 0.25 s). A longer exposure is prevented by the natural eyelid closing reflex.
Like class 2 providing no optical instruments such as magnifying glasses or binoculars are used.
The accessible laser radiation is dangerous to the human eye.
The accessible laser radiation is dangerous to the human eye and in special cases also to the skin.
The accessible laser radiation is dangerous to the human eye and dangerous to the skin. Diffuse radiation can also be dangerous. The laser radiation can cause a danger of fire or explosion.

*) Comments on laser classes 2 and 2M: scientific research (FH Cologne) have discovered that the eyelid closing reflex (which incidentally occurs within 0.25 s - longer exposure damages the eye) only occurred by <20 % of the test candidates. In other words, one cannot assume that an eyelid closing reflex exists to protect human eyes. Thus, if class 2 or 2M laser radiation hits your eye, you should deliberately close your eyes or turn away immediately. Additionally, note that the eyelid closing reflex is only triggered by visible light. Laser radiation in the infrared range, e.g., does not trigger eyelid closing as the eye does not perceive the radiation. For this reason, particular care must be taken in handling invisible laser radiation.

The accident prevention regulations "Laser Radiation" BGV B2, and other documents on safe use of lasers

Observe the precautions stated in the accident prevention regulations (BGV B2). They include:

  • Do not look into the beam or direct reflections, also do not look with optical instruments.
  • Clear marking of the laser area with warning signs at all access points.
  • Route the laser beam clearly below or above eye level, but not at eye level.

The owner/operator of the laser equipment is responsible for compliance with protection measures. The owner/operator must, among other things, ensure that the laser device is assigned to a laser class and marked accordingly. Operations using laser equipment classes 3R, 3B and 4 must be registered with the trade supervisory office and the mutual indemnity association. When operating lasers of these classes, the laser area must be cordoned off and marked. Additionally, owner/operators of laser equipment classes 3R 3B and 4 must appoint an expert as the laser protection officer. Staff operating laser equipment classes 1M, 2, 2M, 3R, 3B or 4, or who have access to the laser area of laser classes 3R, 3B and 4, must be instructed in the effects of laser radiation and required protective measures. The owner/operator must provide suitable laser goggles, protective clothing and protective gloves for operations with laser equipment classes 3R, 3B and 4. The owner/operator is also responsible for compliance with the special safety requirements for operating various laser types.

All prices in euros plus VAT at current rate and shipping costs.
Our large range of of lasers offers you an extensive selection.
The whole world of lasers in 200 pages!
The new catalogue is available!
Order your free now!
The whole world of lasers in 200 pages!

DOE221-635-1-6(10x22)

DOE Laser Module 635nm, red, 1mW, DOE 1:72 DOT Circle - PMMA - 8x1mm 25°, 5V ...
just 67.35 EUR

MD532-5-5-F(22x80)

modulated focusable isolated Dot lasermodule, green, 532nm, 5mW, 5V DC, 22x80...
just 136.43 EUR

DOE265-532-5-3(16x90)-NT

DOE Laser Module 532nm, green, 5mW, DOE 1:19 Dot Line PC 8x1.2mm 13,3° with p...
just 250.86 EUR

DAVID Vision Systems GmbH an HP verkauft (Jul 2016)

Die Tochtergesellschaft DAVID Vision Systems GmbH, mit Sitz in Koblenz, wurde Anfang 20...
Laser safety
Depending on the application, various safety aspects need to be considered. Learn more with our Safety Guide
DOE lasers - making your mark
Laser modules with geometric patterns for a number of practical applications. Learn more!


General Terms and Conditions
Legal
Brands
Laserfuchs
Laserluchs
DAVID Laserscanner
Picotronic GmbH
Rudolf-Diesel-Str. 2a
D-56070 Koblenz
Germany
Email:info@picotronic.de

Tel: +49 (0)261 / 983 497-0
Fax: +49 (0)261 / 983 497-10

Lasersicherheit

Aufgrund der besonderen Eigenschaften von Laserstrahlung und der sich daraus ergebenden biologischen und physikalischen Auswirkungen sind besondere Schutz- und Vorsichtsmaßnahmen bei der Anwendung von Lasern erforderlich. Für die Festlegung der in jedem Einzelfall zu treffenden Maßnahmen werden die Laser entsprechend ihrem Gefährdungspotenzial in Klassen eingeteilt. Maßgebend für die Einteilung der Lasereinrichtungen in die Klassen 1, 1 M, 2, 2 M, 3 R, 3 B und 4 sind die Unfallverhütungsvorschrift "Laserstrahlung" BGV B2 und die DIN-Norm EN 60825-1 (VDE 0837 Teil 1).

warnlabel 1
Die zugängliche Laserstrahlung ist ungefährlich.
  • %
warnlabel 1M
Die zugängliche Laserstrahlung ist ungefährlich, solange keine optischen Instrumente, wie Lupen oder Ferngläser verwendet werden.
  • %
warnlabel 2
Die zugängliche Laserstrahlung liegt nur im sichtbaren Spektralbereich (400 nm bis 700 nm). Sie ist bei kurzzeitiger Bestrahlungsdauer (bis 0,25 s) ungefährlich auch für das Auge. Eine längere Bestrahlung wird durch den natürlichen Lidschlussreflex verhindert.
  • %
warnlabel 2M
Wie Klasse 2 solange keine optischen Instrumente, wie Lupen oder Ferngläser verwendet werden.
  • %
warnlabel 3R
Die zugängliche Laserstrahlung ist gefährlich für das Auge.
  • %
warnlabel 3B
Die zugängliche Laserstrahlung ist gefährlich für das Auge und in besonderen Fällen auch für die Haut.
  • %
warnlabel 4
Die zugängliche Laserstrahlung ist sehr gefährlich für das Auge und gefährlich für die Haut. Auch diffus gestreute Strahlung kann gefährlich sein. Die Laserstrahlung kann Brand- oder Explosionsgefahr verursachen.
  • %
*/ Anmerkung zu Laserklasse 2 und 2M: Durch wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen (FH Köln) wurde festgestellt, dass der Lidschlussreflex (dieser tritt im übrigen innerhalb 0,25 s auf; eine längere Bestrahlung schädigt das Auge) nur bei <20 % der Testpersonen gegeben war. Von dem Vorhandensein des Lidschlussreflexes zum Schutz der Augen darf somit in der Regel nicht ausgegangen werden. Daher sollte man, falls Laserstrahlung der Klasse 2 oder 2M ins Auge trifft, bewusst die Augen schließen oder sich sofort abwenden. Des weiteren ist zu beachten, dass der Lidschlussreflex nur bei sichtbarem Licht erfolgt. Laserstrahlung im Infrarotbereich z.B. führt nicht zu einem Lidschluss, da die Strahlung vom Auge nicht wahrgenommen wird. Deshalb ist ein besonders vorsichtiger Umgang mit unsichtbarer Laserstrahlung anzuraten.

Die Vorsichtsmassnahmen der Unfallverhütungsvorschrift (BGV B2) sind zu beachten. Dazu gehören u.a.:

  • Nicht in den Strahl oder direkte Reflektionen blicken, auch nicht mit optischen Instrumenten.
  • Deutliche Kennzeichnung des Laserbereichs mit Warnschildern an allen Zugängen.
  • Der Laserstrahl sollte deutlich unter oder über, jedoch nicht in Augenhöhe geführt werden.

Verantwortlich für die Einhaltung der Schutzmaßnahmen ist der Betreiber der Lasereinrichtung. Er hat u.a. dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass die Lasergeräte einer Laserklasse zugeordnet und entsprechend gekennzeichnet sind. Der Betrieb von Lasereinrichtungen der Klassen 3R, 3B und 4 muss beim Gewerbeaufsichtsamt und bei der Berufsgenossenschaft angezeigt werden. Beim Betrieb solcher Laser muss ein Laserbereich abgegrenzt und gekennzeichnet sein. Außerdem muss der Betreiber von Lasereinrichtungen der Klassen 3R 3B und 4 sachkundige Personen als Laserschutzbeauftragte bestellen. Das Personal, das Lasereinrichtungen der Klassen 1M, 2, 2M, 3R, 3B oder 4 anwendet oder sich im Laserbereich von Lasern der Klassen 3R, 3B und 4 aufhalten kann, muss über die Wirkungen der Laserstrahlung und die erforderlichen Schutzmaßnahmen belehrt werden. Für den Betrieb von Lasereinrichtungen der Klassen 3R, 3B und 4 müssen vom Betreiber geeignete Laserbrillen, Schutzkleidung oder Schutzhandschuhe zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Auch für die Einhaltung der speziellen Sicherheitsanforderungen für den Betrieb der verschiedenen Lasertypen ist der Betreiber verantwortlich.

Unfallverhütungsvorschrift und weitere Dokumente

thumb_product_356596

DD532-10-3-F(16x65)-CON-DOE

Verstellbarer DOE Laser, grün, 532nm, 10mW, 3V DC, Laserklasse 3B ohne DOE, 1...

thumb_product_358498

PLM-1165

Halterung für Lasermodule mit einem Durchmesser von bis zu D=16.5 mm, inklusi...

thumb_product_356377

DOE244-520-5-3(16x90)-NT

DOE Lasermodul 520nm, grün, 5mW, DOE 13x13 DOTS - PC - 8x1,2mm 5.3° mit Netzt...

thumb_product_357910

DD520-5-4.5(16x200)-S-F4000

Punkt Lasermodul, grün, 520nm, 5mW, 4,5V DC, 16x200mm, Klasse 3R, 3xAAA Batte...